Pippa in spring

Hi everyone!  I’m JaNette from over at Merri Poppins.  I don’t think I have ever actually introduced myself before. Ooops! Sorry about that!  I am a mom to 4 kids with Jenna being my youngest.  I have been sewing since she was about 2 years old.  Guess what?  She just turned 6 on March 14.  And boy oh boy is she being a sassy girl!  Just take a look…. IMG_8909        IMG_8934   IMG_8894

So, who’s ready for spring?  I am.  I keep thinking that if I sew enough spring and summer items that mother nature will get the hint. Like this fabulous jacket here!  The Pippa from Izzy & Ivy.  This is a perfect little jacket for spring made in a lightweight fabric.  If you choose to use a light weight fabric make sure you also choose to use interfacing. It does make a difference. Especially with this style. This pattern comes with…

  • nested pattern pieces
  • sizes 2 thru 12
  • chart with finished measurements
  •  chart with fabric requirements
  • chart with cutting dimensions
  • a well written tutorial with tips
  • a pattern printing table of contents

IMG_8966

So first off I didn’t have to print every single size like you normally have to do with nested patterns. I simply found the size I was sewing and printed the page range.  I ended up printing sizes 5, 6 and 7 only.  There is a 1 inch test square and that is so important!  I do measure those every single time I print a pattern. Even if I have printed the pattern before I still measure it! LOL

IMG_8908

I have to admit something….I love the way ruffles look but I’m not a huge fan of sewing them.  All of that pinning and gathering.  So I was so very excited to be given the chance to sew up Pippa.  With all of her lovely, lovely topstitching!  If you are not a fan of topstitching….this is your warning.  Not only do you topstitch once, but actually twice on the pieces that require it.  So around the bodice, sleeves, pocket flaps, and collar you will find two topstitches.  It does take a little time but I assure you, it’s worth the effort! To me, it gives a crisp, polished look to this jacket. Also adding to the polished look is the fact there are no exposed seams.  That is also a big A+ for outerwear!  But I didn’t know until I made this,  how much of a difference it makes to not have serged seams showing.  There is a detailed tip included to show you how to use the “Tokyo finish”.  I love learning new tips and tricks!!!

IMG_8983

As far as the overall fit of the jacket…remember that it’s just that…outerwear.  They will be wearing another layer of clothing underneath.  So, with that in mind I should have gone up a size for Jenna.  I did measure her arm length and sized up to the 7 for the sleeves.  It fits her now.  But I don’t see her being able to wear this for very long. That makes me sad because she picked these fabrics for this jacket as one of her birthday gifts.  I could have avoided this mistake if I had sewn a muslin first.  Live and learn.

IMG_8886     IMG_8914

There are also several buttonholes to make (this is where the interfacing is important)….1 on each sleeve and 4 on the front. And where there are buttonholes, there are buttons to sew on….1 on each sleeve, 4 on the front and 2 on the faux pockets.  I used my buttonhole foot attachment for my machine so it didn’t take very long.  The pattern has the placement marked for these, you just have to take the time to transfer the marks to your fabric. The only downside was not having functional pockets.  I know, I know, that’s why they are called faux pockets.  But for kids like Jenna who like pockets, if it looks like a pocket it should be a functioning one.  Immediately after getting the jacket on,  she tried to stick her hands in the pockets.  Then sad face.  No pockets.  I know I can easily add them but I will do that later. Maybe.

IMG_8928        IMG_8993

So overall I would rate this pattern for the intermediate/advance seamstress. One reason being,  I worked on this for a few days but with no interruptions I could have it done in 1 day (I’m counting cutting it out, marking it and sewing).  I would make this again especially as she gets older because this style will grow well into tween years. Second reason being, there is not a lot of over explaining in the tutorial.  You have to have some basic knowledge of sewing coming into this one.  I’m not saying a beginner couldn’t tackle this and succeed, but it’s better suited for a more seasoned seamstress due to the precise placement of pieces.

IMG_8976

Until next time…

JaNette

Leave a Reply

