~Blog Tour~ Shabby Christmas Stocking

 

Hi Everyone!  Welcome to my stop on the blog tour!!!  Here are the others who are participating so please stop by and see what they are making too……

Dec 14: Connected by a thread

Dec 15: crazy crafty haute mama

Dec16: adventures with bubba and bug

Dec 17: merri poppins

Dec 18: all things katy

I’m pretty excited to share what I have made.  I have been digging into my scrap pile A LOT lately.  This is a good thing because I came across the perfect fabrics to use for these stockings. My friend Bobbie from A Vision to Remember has a cute rag quilt Christmas Stocking pattern and tutorial on her blog.  Click over if you want to have some fun and make your own!

Shabby Chic Stocking

 

I got all of my fabric scraps together and decided our kitten Sven needed a stocking for Christmas. Jenna insisted that Anna have one too which is a good thing because silly me I used FLEECE instead of FLANNEL to make Sven’s stocking “sandwiches” (my favorite term used to describe the way to piece this together) LOL.

Shabby Chic Stocking  Shabby Chic Stocking

 

So just so YOU know because I wasn’t thinking…fleece doesn’t fray.  And to make this shabby-chic you need it all to fray.  OOOPS!  So I correctly made Anna’s with FLANNEL and woven.  And you can tell the difference!! I don’t notice the cuts in the flannel as much as I do the fleece. And I feel like it blends together better too.  But I don’t think either cats really care because both are comfy to lay on evidently.

 

IMG_6851-1  IMG_6835-1

I am new to quilting and this was the first time using the rag quilt technique.  Once I got the hang of putting WRONG SIDES together because I normally sew right sides together, it went fairly fast.  Which is a great thing because Christmas will be here very soon and these kitties want some new toys, just like the kids!!!

Until next time

JaNette

4 thoughts on “~Blog Tour~ Shabby Christmas Stocking

Leave a Reply

