AVTR Blog Tour {Rag Apron Pattern}

Hi everyone!!!! It’s kinda been a little crazy around here lately but I have managed to make my 3rd A Vision To Remember rag style item!!! I’m so excited that I am finally getting the hang of it.  Today I am sharing the Women’s Rag Apron by AVTR made from one of my favorite fabric lines….Lost & Found Love by Riley Blake.  Bobbie was kind enough to send me some from her stash to make this.

IMG_7395-1

I didn’t exactly know what I wanted the finished apron to look like when I started, except for where to use the heart fabrics.  From working with this fabric before, I knew I wanted to spotlight them again!  Included in the pattern there is a layout you can print out and label if you wanted to.  I probably will do something like that next time.  I’ve kinda been just winging it with the others.

IMG_7324-1

I have *finally* clipped the edges enough so that it frays!!! I definitely needed to take smaller snips than I had been. Bobbie sent me this video of her making a rag quilt and it helped to see someone else going through the process. I learn best when I have a step by step demo.  Check it out here.

IMG_7364-1

I do a ton of baking and it would make sense for me to wear this and whip up some MerriPoppins Signature cupcakes, right? Only I have a really small kitchen, bad lighting, and Miss H is much more photogenic than I, so we had to take these outside.  Which makes me sad because it would have been perfect for my most recent order…..

I also made a couple minor changes.  Instead of a frayed ruffle, I did hem mine by serging it then turning it over 1/4 inch.  I also shortened my scalloped trim on accident.  The kids interrupted me and before I realized it, I had lined it up at the wrong spot and I already started cutting. Ooops!  So know that yours will be a little longer than mine.  It still hits Miss H at a decent length, so I wouldn’t worry about it too much if you make the same mistake.

IMG_7371-1

I also cut some extra long satin ribbon for the ties.  I made them longer so I could tie in the front or back. All in all though, I think it turned out really cute!  It’s sweet and sassy!  I love the fabric combo and how everything went together since I didn’t plan every piece of fabric.  This would make a cute gift for a wedding shower, birthday gift for someone who likes to bake, or maybe as a housewarming gift.  There are some free tutorials to make hanging towels or oven mitts that you could coordinate a set.  Just leave me a comment and I can send you the links.

IMG_7368-1

Well, I hope you enjoyed my version!!!!  Check back later to see what else I’m cooking up!!!

AVTR Apron Blog Tour:

 

3/1/16: Larissa from CBAT

3/2/16: JaNette from Merri Poppins

3/2/16: Patricia from Sew Far North

3/3/16: Melissa from Rebel & Malice

3/3/16: Ula from Lulu & Celeste

3/4/16: Denita from HattieLu Handmade

3/4/16: Essence from Amazing Adventures of Bubba and Bug
Until next time….

JaNette

 

6 thoughts on “AVTR Blog Tour {Rag Apron Pattern}

Leave a Reply

