Garden Party in Voile

IMG_7437-1

Voile is probably my most favorite fabric to work with.  I accidentally purchased some when I first started out sewing years ago (which was a happy mistake!) and nothing has topped it since.  It looks like cotton woven but it’s kinda silky feeling and very light weight.  My daughter absolutely loves to wear things made from voile. Miss J picked this print out for her birthday dress which I purchased from Whimsical Fabric and it’s called Table Flowers in Cheer .

IMG_7415-1

The pattern I picked to sew is  Garden Party by Oliver & S  and it’s also available at Whimsical Fabric.  I thought the drape that the voile provides, would look nice on the gathered bodice of this pattern.  Because the fabric is light weight,  it did make gathering very easy. I always use a fresh needle when working with anything light weight.  We don’t want to ruin any pretty fabric! Especially since voile is a tad more expensive than regular cotton woven.  It is 54″ wide, so you can possibly make a few things from a yard depending on what it is and still get your money’s worth.

IMG_7425-1

This was my first Oliver & S sew and it definitely has nice finishing  touches that I haven’t sewn in a while.  Sewing the bias tape around the arms was a tad harder than normal for me. The fabric was slippery being that I only pinned it in place.  I’ll have to find a better method if I sew this one in voile again.

IMG_7421-1

You can also make this with a second fabric for the bands on the bodice if you don’t like it in all one fabric. Most of the time I choose a two fabric option so I thought I would change it up this time 🙂  I left the length long on her because she likes her dresses like that.  I think just above the knee, however, would be super cute! There was also an option for short sleeves that I will try next time. I’m sure she will ask for another one of these as she didn’t want to take it off. But then again, voile feels cozy on the skin so I can’t say I blame her!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I hope you enjoyed what I made and will check out the other ideas as well!!!!

Until next time,

JaNette

Be sure to check out all the posts this week! So many different uses for Voile!

3/14: Larissa from Connected by a Thread
3/15: Denita from Hattielu Handmade
3/16: JaNette from Merri Poppins
3/17: Sharon from Sweet Pea & Pumpkins
3/18: Stacey from From a Box

You can shop voile fabrics on the Whimsical Fabric website and be sure to use VOILE for 10% off your voile order! Coupon expires Thursday, March 24th at midnight CST.

6 thoughts on “Garden Party in Voile

Leave a Reply

